Sportin’ a ‘stache

I’ve been seeing and hearing a lot about moustaches lately. My #2 son is obsessed; his favorite online store is Fuzzy Ink. He just bought a belt buckle from them. I have to admit…it’s odd. But he’s an odd kid. And I mean that lovingly.

Cracked.com ran an article the other day, 10 Mustache Styles That Must Be Stopped. It’s a must read. There are some great photos here. I don’t want to spoil the fun. Check it out if facial hair amuses you. Or even if it doesn’t.

I don’t think all men should have facial hair. But I sure do love it on Andrew. And there are other men that I think look oh, so sexy with a nicely maintained moustache and tightly trimmed goatee or scruffy beard.

Yes, that’s just how I roll.

I do admit that some men should be clean shaven. I believe this wholeheartedly.

And, I believe that most women should be, too.

I do not want to sit in judgement. That is not the point of this post. If you are a hirsute woman and like sporting a ‘stache, you go girl.

For me? It’s never been an aspiration.

And for 48 years and 9 months, that has been the case. Okay, maybe that’s not true. Let me back up a little.

Today, I went for a pedicure. I know, right? I have a meeting tomorrow and want to wear a nice sandal. So I splurged. Top that with the fact that I love that magic fingers chair so much I can hardly describe it. (Hint, hint. This would make a great present one day.) Okay, I’m off track again. Must be all that relaxation.

So Yuna (name changed to protect the innocent) said as she put the finishing touches on my pearl polish… “Wendy, you should let me wax your eyebrows.”

This lead to a discussion about how I just had them waxed. She kindly pointed out that I was not wearing my glasses and she was fairly certain that they needed attention. Fine. I trust her.

So as Yuna was waxing my eyebrows, she said as she pointed to the right and left side of the top of my lip, you know, just inside the big smile lines I’ve developed, “Wendy, you should let me wax you here, too.”

What?

She said it wouldn’t hurt. Much. But that she STRONGLY suggested that I listen.

Sigh. I did.

I have no idea if it looks better, I haven’t looked with glasses on yet. I’m still a little mortified. Mortified that I had no idea that I needed a ‘stache wax and mortified that, as far as I know, I’ve needed one for a long, long time.

Well Yuna? Thanks for crushing my dream of having a young, smooth upperlip. Well, I guess I have a smooth one now. I just hope I know when I need to come back. Clearly, I don’t see as well as I used to.

But that’s a story for another day.

9 thoughts on “Sportin’ a ‘stache

  1. Oh, the horrors of growing older, right?

    I had a friend that I used to rib mercilessly when she would talk about finding a whisker on her chin.
    Eeeeeew! I would shriek.
    Then, one morning, I thought of her and took a look and guess what I found?
    YEP!
    I have been anxiously checking every day now.
    Karma’s a bitch!

    xo

  2. Having been on the receiving end of lip & eye maintenance since age 13 (when my Mom forced, yes forced me into the torture that is known as waxing), I loved this read. Given that you got your toes tickled in advance, I’d say all in all, it was a good day.

  3. I had my first experience with threading this summer. I asked for the eyebrows, and while my eyes were still closed, she swooped down and did my upper lip. Wow, was that a painful surprise. I had tears running down my cheeks by the time she was done…but my lip and chin were as smooth as a baby’s…lip and chin.

  4. OMG, how I love you. What a subject to write about – and such honesty. I. Love. It.

    I am the non-hirsute type, for which I am eteranally grateful, but every now and then I grab a mirror and wonder if I’m dense and missing something that I need to be paying attention to. The plight of the non-girly girl. Yet, like you, I have someone who will routinely tell me what’s wrong and fix me right up.

    I love my aesthetician and pretty much do whatever she says. And I’m glad you did, too. I’m sure you’re as beautiful — as always, frankly, with or without the ‘stache.

    Mwah to you for your bravery.

You know I love comments! Comment here. (Does that sound needy?)